Posted by: LBergstrome | May 3, 2011

Excellence – The Family Virtues Guide

The past few weeks have been oh so full, with family birthdays, illness, school plays, stresses and celebrations. We have just wrapped up the second week of spring break with the children home from school. My daily and weekly rhythm and flow were thrown under the bus as I made an attempt to greatly reduced my screen time and increase family time!

Since my last post, we have looked at detachmentdeterminationenthusiasm, and now excellence.

 From the Virtues Project website:

“Excellence is doing your best, giving careful attention to every task and every relationship. Excellence is effort guided by a noble purpose. It is a desire for perfection. The perfection of a seed comes in the fruit. When you practice excellence, you bring your gifts to fruition. Excellence is the key to success.”

I have really fought with the process of writing about excellence, making excuses for myself and playing with semantics. I was triggered by the use of the word perfection in the above quote, mainly because I have made a conscious decision in my life to let my perfectionism slide. I felt I was doing more harm than good judging myself on how well I could achieve any given task or goal. I have given myself permission to do my best without comparison to others.

I have more to share, but in my imperfection I am going to put this up and I may add more as the week goes on! I’m offering the best I can in this moment 🙂

Much love

Laura

Responses

  1. Hi sweet! We put so much pressure on ourselves in this media mad society!
    I applaud you for cutting screen time and giving yourself a break. It can all be so addictive, as I am finding out!! In the words of my favorite group:

    Let it Go, Let it Go, This is smaller than you know,
    It’s no bigger than a pebble lying on a gravel road.
    Let it Go, Let it Go, you’ve got to leave it all behind you,
    Give the sun a chance to find you,
    Let it Go.

    Love you Laura, and don’t forget, we are all already perfect, and we’ll probably never regret spending time in the real world instead of the world of the keyboard!!

    • Thank you for the song Wendy! I’m not familiar with it so have created my own little tune.

      Much love to you xo


Leave a Reply

Categories

