Posted by: LBergstrome | March 24, 2011

In Our Home

In our home we invite the virtue’s of Courtesy and Creativity to play and explore.

“Please” and “thank you”, expressions of gratitude in a word or a glance. Heartfelt moments shared with a smile. Giving way for passage of another. Offering up the first cookie from the tray, a hug, a word of advise. Playfulness, artistic expressions with a beeswax crayon, dress-up, dance, performance. Accepting the wisdom of our elders, stopping to listen, catching our breath before saying something unkind, apologizing after we do. Stitching, knitting, sharing in a circle of friends… this has been my week thus far.

Here are my current projects:

Both are in a silk and cotton blend (the pink has a touch of wool) and are knit in seed stitch. You can find the pattern here on ravelry, with the adaptations I’ve made to the pattern in the Notes section of each.

It’s been a while since I’ve posted… I would be lying if I told you I had been off-line these past two weeks. Quite the opposite is true actually, however I found myself deeply affected by the earthquakes and continuing aftershocks and the tsunami in Japan. Despite the fact that I have never set foot in Japan, or anywhere in Asian for that matter, I have always felt a deep affinity for the spiritual fabric which makes up my understanding of Japanese culture.

On the eve of the Spring Equinox I shared with the children the story of Persephone and Demeter. How when Persephone was a young madden, her curiosity lead her into the depths of the underworld where after accepting and eating 6 seeds from the pomegranate fruit she was able to see the beauty of the stones, crystals, and rivers of molten lava. However her Goddess mother above mourned and refused fertility, growth and new life. Because Persephone, too, was a Goddess she was granted return becoming a bridge between both worlds; spending 6 months in the underworld as Queen and returning each spring as maiden bringing renewal to the world.

Something shifted in my awareness with the Equinox filling me with new hope. I don’t know what exactly it is yet, but as my heart has been torn open by devastation in the world I trust that only good will come. The maiden of spring has returned and will share her light once again.

Much Love

Laura

Responses

  1. Persephone emerges and the world is born anew…

    Thank you for sharing your experience of the past couple of weeks. It has indeed been overwhelmong at times watching from afar the devastation and intensity that those in Japan have been, and continue to be, faced with. The special connection that you have with this place and it’s culture will serve to benefit our brothers and sisters across the ocean…the hope and trust that you feel in regards to that situation will support the birth of the country’s renewal. In every challenge there is an opportunity and a gift…

    I am thankful for the reminder of the centrality of the virtue of courtesy in our relationship with others. Even as an adult who learned my “please” and “thank you’s” many moons ago, I appreciate the awareness that you have inspired which I will now walk through my day with…a focus on the ways in which I can show gratitude and respect for my fellow humans in a heartfelt and authentic manner.

    Thank you for your insights and sharings!

  2. “All is well. Out of this experience only good will come. I send waves of peace, safety and harmony for all of life.”
    (affirmation by Louise Hay)


Leave a Reply

Categories

