Posted by: LBergstrome | March 9, 2011

In Our Home This Week

Please click on the image to visit the photographers original post

Photo by G. Hiss

This week in our home we are working with the virtue of courage. Courage to face our fears, courage to share our love, courage to stand up for what we believe is right.

I have tended to equate courage to bravado, however this quote from Mary Anne Radmacher has caused me to take pause.

“Courage doesn’t always roar.  Sometimes courage is the little voice at the end of the day that says I’ll try again tomorrow.”

It’s that little voice that nurtures and gently persuades us to not give us hope. When times are tough we can make small agreements just to make it through this moment, and only after, try for the next.

This is the song we have been singing each day as the spring song birds wake us from slumber (often at an earlier hour that we would like to rise.)

Spring is coming, spring is coming,
Birdies, build your nest;
Weave together straw and feather,
Doing each your best.
Spring is coming, spring is coming,
Flowers are coming, too;
Pansies, lilies, daffodils
Now are coming through.
Spring is coming, spring is coming,
All around is fair;
Shimmer and quiver on the river,
Joy is everywhere.


Please click on the image to visit the photographers original post

Photo by Vincent de Groot

One isn’t necessarily born with courage, but one is born with potential. Without courage, we cannot practice any other virtue with consistency. We can’t be kind, true, merciful, generous, or honest. ~ Maya Angelou


With love

Laura xo

Responses

  1. I recognized the Crocus immediately when I arrived to read. It’s a lovely flower, a perfect accent for this particular post on courage.
    If I understand my flowers correctly, Crocus, the ones I planted, were the first to bloom, rising up from the frozen soil on a sunny winter day. They seemed eager to greet the spring, even before my Daffodils! I thought it was illogical that a lovely flower would dare bloom when it could easily be frozen solid by next morning. The Crocus braved the freezing cold regardless of great risk to delicate petals…..natures own, tiny symbol of courage.

    • Gary, I see from your blog that you are no stranger to living with courage. Your story is inspiring and heartbreaking at the same time. Thank you for sharing yourself and your healing journey… we all have much to learn from you. xo

      • Life’s toughest challenges are very often beyond our control. Live right, do right, think right, believe right (different perceptions and definitions) and a person can still be struck with fate. Sometimes hard to avoid, I can occasionally succumb to pessimism. I only write about one fire, but have actually been introduced to a flaming home twice. The second hitting me little more than a year after the one I write about. The second fire took away all that was given to us through community generosity the first time around.
        Life can be a television soap opera for anyone who walks the earth. Life is beautiful, I do have a few regrets, but all is not lost. I sift through my memories, writing about the happy or sad, and while I’m at it, I meet beautiful and wonderful people here @ WordPress.com….nice to meet you!

  2. From the Rudolf Steiner Archive on Facebook:
    ‎”The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it’s conformity.” – John Perry Barlow


Leave a Reply

Categories

