Posted by: LBergstrome | March 3, 2011

In Our Home This Week

After a week of upheaval, I have warmly invited a state of normalcy back into our home as the children have settled back into school and I have said “good-bye” to the electricians and drywallers. Family rhythm is finding its was back into our home and I may breathe a little more deeply (especially now that the dust has literally cleared!)

Seasonal Rhythm

I love March! It means spring is on its way and that the days are noticeably getting longer. The Equinox falls during the third week of March when many cultures globally celebrate their new year.

 

Please click on the image to visit the photographers original post

photo by desktopwallpapers.org.ua

One of my favourite books for following the earth cycles is “Circle Round” a collaboration of Starhawk, Diane Baker, and Anne Hill. Filled with stories, songs, crafts and recipes, the book carries us through a year of celebrations, rituals, and festivals to celebrate with our families, friends and communities. Honouring the moon cycle, sun cycle, and cycles of life (pregnancy & birth, growth, adolescence, rites of passage, and life transitions) there are gems here for all stages of development.

Two other books I adore are “Festivals Family and Food” and “The Children’s Year” from Hawthorn Press. Both, inspired by the natural world, are rich with activities, crafts, food and songs for young children.

Weekly Rhythm

This week we turn to the virtue of Consideration

“Consideration is being thoughtful of other people and their feelings. You consider how your actions affect them. You pay careful attention to what other like and don’t like, and do things that give them happiness.” – The Virtue’s Project.

I watch my children struggle with this virtue a bit, and wonder if that may be common in other homes.

When my children were born, they were at the centre of my universe. They were held, loved, fed, and cared for while I attempted to respond to their every need. As they grew the universe expanded and they began an elliptical orbit around me, sometimes staying near, other times venturing a little further away, trusting the love of their mom to keep them safe. Now that they are both of school age and away from me for most of the day, their lives have changed dramatically. The invisible umbilicus that connects us is still strong, but they are now in the care of their teachers, only to return home at the end of the day.

More opportunities are now presenting themselves to the children to care and tend to new relationships and practice consideration. Having had their needs met, they are learning to meet the needs of others. Simple words like ‘please’ and ‘thank you’ still do not always come naturally. I do what I can to encourage them, but notice that they are still fairly self-absorbed.

How do you encourage your children to be more considerate?

Happy March to you and yours!

Much love

Laura xo

Responses

  1. Nice post. I will try to be thoughful today.

    • Thank you. I just came from your blog, having read only 2 posts, my world is altered. Thank you for your honesty and vulnerability, it helped me gain perspective.
      With respect
      Laura

  2. Taking time to “Smell The Roses”, I rarely skip an opportunity to seek and find.

    Would you have ever imagined that a construction-worker-plumber-writer (me) might be wandering the WordPress neighborhood and stop by to say hello?
    I’ve been mixing it up with visits to many member sites the past few weeks, today I am here.

    I appreciate the efforts you have put into creating a blog that offers a healthy portion of celebration, food and family. The Pink Blossoms on the fruit tree look fantastic.

    I found a piece of data from one of your post’s that indicates you might have recently suffered through the dust storm of a construction project. I’ve witnessed that “I’m Thankful It’s All Over” look in many a homeowner’s eyes over the past decades as they shook my hand and said “Goodbye”……

    Best Regards!

  3. Hello Gary, thank you for stopping in! Everyone is welcome, including “construction-worker-plumber-writer” types 🙂 Thank you for your feedback, I appreciate it very much!
    (I love cherry blossoms and can’t wait for the streets to be filled with them!)
    Cheers
    Laura

  4. I guess the most we can really do is to teach by example…. I’m considerate, and one day they will be too….. right?

  5. Agreed Nina, we can do our best to be living examples of what we wish to bestow upon our children. We’re human and bound to make mistakes, just as our children will and it’s ok.


Leave a Reply

Categories

