Posted by: LBergstrome | February 24, 2011

W.I.P (work in progress)

Is it ok that I couldn’t choose a single pattern last week?

I hope so, because I chose three!

I learned to knit quite young, but quickly grew frustrated with my attempts, it never seemed to progress fast enough or my tension would be off resulting in tight stitches, nearly impossible to poke a needle through. A girlfriend recently reminded me that I picked it up again when my daughter was born. Apparently I sat and knit while washing diapers at the laundry mat… must be new mom/baby brain which is keeping those memories from me!

I’ve picked up my needles a few times over the last few years. My children are learning to knit at school, inspiring me to relearn along with them. These three patterns are simple enough for a beginner and the finished products are sure to please!

The first is Monday’s Cowl, pattern by Lynn Coe

pattern by Lynn Coe

The purl/twist stitch takes a bit of time, but I love the texture created. I still need to find the perfect button. Follow the link above to see the colour I chose and to link to the pattern on Ravelry.com.

The second is Chunky Cowl, pattern by Jenny Lord

pattern by Jenny Lord

This one is no longer a Work In Progress! I finished in no time! A friend brought me the circular needles on the weekend and I finished the same day! If I were to make it again, I’d use a “Super Bulky” wool, as mine doesn’t hold it’s shape as nicely. Live and learn! I used the same wool as I’m using for Monday’s Cowl.

The third is Cotton Seeds, pattern by Mistybliss

pattern by Michelle Dupont at twoandsix

I love the way this looks and can’t wait to finish! This project is sure to take me the next several weeks to complete. It’s made in seed stitch in a beautiful cotton/silk blend. I adapted the pattern to work with the needles I have, again click the link above to find the original pattern and to see my colour choice.

I would love to know what you’re working on.

With love,

Laura

Responses

  1. I’m working on some cuffs with the Sweet Georgia Yarn from Point Grey, Vancouver…. Love it!

    • And may I add… I love what you’ve made and are making! Cowlilicious!

  2. http://shop.sweetgeorgiayarns.com/ looks wonderful! Wear them on Sunday and I’ll wear one of mine! xo


Leave a Reply

Categories

