Posted by: LBergstrome | January 24, 2011

Rediscovering Family Rhythm

With our new home and community, I’ve been at a bit of a loss on how to identify with my surroundings. I’m meeting some lovely new friends, as are the children, but before we simply stumble through our days and weeks and months I wish to draw us in and focus on how we really want to live as a family.

There seems to be a common theme out in the blog-osphere in this regard. I’ve seen tips on staying organized, recommendations on planning the home school calendar for the fall, how to set up to-do lists, suggestions on finding a rhythm. A rhythm? Yes, that speaks to me. We must find our new family rhythm.

With this in mind I’ve put together a family calendar for the year, based on natural rhythms, rituals, festivals, holidays, and traditions that speak to us as a family.

I began by creating a Google Calendar, then added a weekly focus based on The Family Virtues Guide, beginning this week with assertiveness. I added the lunar phases and the 8 solar seasonal holidays: Candlemas/Imbolc, Spring Equinox, Beltane, Summer Solstice, Lughnasad, Autumn Equinox, Samhain/Halloween & Winter Solstice. And then our favourite festivals celebrated at Waldorf school: Epiphany/3 Kings, Whitsun, Michaelmas, Martinmas, Advent, St Nicholas, Santa Lucia, and the 12 days of Christmas. And of course our cultural/Christian holidays of Easter and Christmas. And more!

My intent is to use this calendar as a guide for family activities, crafting projects, rotation of the nature table, gardening & harvesting, family fitness, culinary exploration, and such. In writing my values, I realized I wasn’t necessarily living up to my ideals and well as I would like and so am taking steps toward accomplishing goals for a more harmonious, flowing home life.

I hope it can serve as a guide for your own visioning of 2011.

Love and Gratitude,

Laura

Responses

  1. […] virtue in focus is cleanliness, which is timed quite nicely with a house full of guests! The children are […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

